The Trust currently has four Trustees who are drawn from different backgrounds, each of them having had an association with David Summers.

Diane Janes

Diane first met David Summers in 1985 through mutual interest in politics. They became lifelong friends and she was appointed an Executor in his Will. After his untimely death Diane became the first non-legal Trustee. In this role she is keen to see the Trust advance David’s wishes to promote and support Scottish writing in its broadest sense and is particularly pleased with its involvement with children and young people through the Pushkin Prizes and support for literature in the Craigmillar community.

Dr Dave Roberts

Dave is a retired academic with research interests in Applied Mathematics. He was a friend and colleague of David Summers for over 20 years. Although their research areas were different, there was a collaboration in the last few years before David’s death with Dave providing mathematical support for David’s ideas on turbulence.

Maggie Corr

Maggie spent much of her career working as a senior manager in Edinburgh City Libraries and Information Services. Her responsibilities included co-ordinating library services to children and young people and managing Central Library and its services. She shares Dr Summers’ interest in promoting literature in Scotland and has been a longstanding member of the Pushkin Prizes in Scotland Executive Committee. Since retiring, Maggie has pursued her interests in education and literacy. She is Chair of the Board of the Craigmillar Literacy Trust, has trained as an adult literacy volunteer tutor and volunteers in a local primary school.

David Reith

David was the Senior Partner of Lindsays Solicitors in Edinburgh for a number of years. An experienced charity lawyer David provided advice to a wide range of Scottish-based charities on such matters as governance, management and legal issues. Now retired, David continues to serve as a trustee on a number of Scottish charitable trusts and is the main point of contact as administrator of the Dr David Summers Charitable Trust.